WOS 3 / Programm / Workshops / One-Day Workshops / Where next for copyright in Europe?

Where next for copyright in Europe?

Sunday, 13 June 2004, 11-18:00
Technical University Berlin, main building, Room H 2032

organized by
Ian Brown
Director, Foundation for Information Policy Research (FIPR), London

Copyright law has become one of the most important and controversial drivers of the Information Society. The Internet has made every user a publisher, but copyright rules governing their activities are often determined by opaque international bodies that decide rules with little public input.

Join us in Berlin to debate where copyright should be going to ensure that authors, musicians, film-makers and the public will all benefit. Engage wih leading international thinkers from across Europe and the United States. Meet colleagues who are working to make sure all members of society benefit from copyright.

Attendance is free thanks to sponsorship from the Open society Institute, but please send an e-mail to [this address] to let us know you will be coming for planning purposes.


Influencing the international agenda
Updating the Copyright Directive
Implementing the IPR Enforcement Directive
Copyright beyond the EU
Do we need a Digital Rights Directive?

Speakers include:

Teresa Hackett (EBLIDA), Robin Gross (IP Justice), Simon Davies (Privacy International), Sjoera Nas (Bits of Freedom), Mindaugas Kiskis (Law University of Lithuania), Jonathan Griffiths (Queen Mary, University of London), David Mann (Royal National Institute of the Blind), Lee Bygrave (Norwegian Research Centre for Computers and Law), Andreas Dietl, (European Digital Rights), Mariusz Kondrat (Poland Office of the Committee for European Integration), Georg Jakob (University of Salzburg), Slobodan Markovic (Centre for Internet Development, Belgrade), Maja Bogataj (University of Llubljana), David Sanduhkchyan (InterNews Armenia), Teo Celakoski (Multimedia Institute, Zagreb), Tattu Mambetalieva (Global Internet Policy Initiative, Kyrgyzstan), Sacha Belyaeva (InterNews Russia), Veni Markovski (Internet Society Bulgaria), Ross Anderson (Cambridge University and FIPR), William Fisher (Berkman Center for Internet and Society), Wendy Seltzer (Electronic Frontier Foundation), Ville Oksanen (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology and Electronic Frontier Finland).

--> more

[^] nach oben

Creative Commons License
All original works on this website unless otherwise noted are
copyright protected and licensed under the
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License Germany.